Hawaii Surfing Championship - 2nd Leg - Ala Moana Bowls

The 2nd leg of the "noRep Boardshorts Hawaii Surfing Championship" was held this past weekend at Ala Moana Bowls on the south shore of Oahu.

The contest brought together some of the best local talent the island has to offer.

Waves were pretty small, but that didn't keep Makua Rothman, Isaiah Moniz or Kekoa Cazimero, among others, from ripping them.

Cole Yamakawa won the noRep Boardshorts Men’s Shortboard Division, while Kai Sallas has back to back wins in the Toes on the Nose Longboard Division. Also in the Surf Garage Team Division it was Makua Rothman, Tom Dosland and Sage Huls as Team Hammerheads who took the win. 

This sets us ready for the final event that will be held at Sandy Beach in August and with a point system we will declare the overall winner and the Hawaii Surfing Champion.

Mahalo to our sponsors – Toes on the Nose Clothing, Surf Garage and Rainbow Drive-In, we couldn't have done it without them. Also special thanks to Kai Sallas Pro Surf School, JMC Surfboards, Surf News Network and Surfing the Nations.

The Contest was broadcasted live at www.hawaiisurfingchampionship.com


noRep Boardshorts Men’s Shortboard Division:

1st Cole Yamakawa

2nd Kainoa Haas

3rd Kekoa Cazimero

4th EJ Mitsui


Toes on the Nose Longboard Division

1st Kai Sallas

2nd Kapono Nahina

3rd Nelson Ahina III

4th Duane Desoto


Surf Garade Team Challenge


Team Hammerheads – Makua Rothman, Sage Huls, Tom Dosland

2nd Place

Team Flashback – Love Hodel, Gavin Sutherland, Doug Silva